none
Sqldatareader in Enitity Framework RRS feed

• Question

• Hi Team,

I am new to SQL and Entity Framework. I have my code below. Basically I am loading values using DbDatareader.

I am not aware about the performance of this code. And also I need to explicitly open and close the connection, Is there anyway where we donot have to explicitly open the connection.

privatestaticDictionary<string, ArchiveType> LoadArchiveTypeDictionary()

{

Dictionary<string, ArchiveType>  archiveTypes = newDictionary<string, ArchiveType>(StringComparer.InvariantCultureIgnoreCase);

using(vardbContext = newDbContext("DNNAME"))

{

dbContext.Database.Connection.Open();

try

{

varcmdIns = dbContext.Database.Connection.CreateCommand();

cmdIns.CommandText =

"SELECT [Id],[NAME] "+

"FROM [DBNAME]

using(System.Data.Common.DbDataReaderreader = cmdIns.ExecuteReader())

{

while(reader.Read())

{

IDataRecordrecord = (IDataRecord)reader;

ArchiveTypearchiveType = newArchiveType(record);

archiveTypes.Add(archiveType.Name, archiveType);

}

}

}

catch(Exceptionex)

{

}

finally

{

dbContext.Database.Connection.Close();

}

returnarchiveTypes;

}

}

Thanks

Sushil

• Moved by Olaf HelperMVP Wednesday, November 14, 2018 11:03 AM Moved from SQL Server to a more related forum
    Wednesday, November 14, 2018 10:46 AM

All replies

• First off, if you want to post code, then the toolbar icon to the right of the HTML icon is a code formatting tool.

If you are using EF 6, then you can do what is in the link to get the connection through the EF connection,  use ADO.NET, SQL Command objects, parmterized inline T-SQL or parmterized sproc, a datareader and use the DTO pattern.

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/ef/ef6/modeling/designer/advanced/multiple-result-sets

If you are using prior versions of EF, then you have to do what is in the link.

https://blogs.msdn.microsoft.com/alexj/2009/11/07/tip-41-how-to-execute-t-sql-directly-against-the-database/