none
Late Binding a dll RRS feed

• Question

• Yes.... I know.. there are about a bazillion articles out there telling me how to do this. The thing is, I cant quite make the examples fit my situation. It's like watching the professor explain a problem on the white board and thinking... I can do this. Then getting home and trying it with variables that don't match the example and being completely baffled about how it can be so easy when he does and so confusing when I do it.
    BACKGROUND:

The company I work for does credit card processing. We have software that just about always works perfectly sometimes. As a tech, my job is to troubleshoot it when it doesn't work. One small peice of the puzzle is a dll called NetSend. This is one of many pieces that I have to test when I'm troubleshooting why "the credit cards are broke". Since I'm a shade tree developer, I decided to write a program that will test all the different pieces of this puzzle. This works great! I added a reference to the dll, called the functions that I needed to call and got the results I was looking for.
    TIME FOR SOME TESTING:

So I got everything working, set up a test server to mimik a client install, loaded my tester, and got a great big FAIL on the NetSend test. I did some digging around and found out that there are at least 2 versions (maybe more) of the NetSend dll. Version 1.0.2.1 and version 3.2.0.0 Awesome. And since I compliled my exicuteble with the entry points for version 1, and was trying to test version 3, I was referencing the wrong memory addresses for the function calls.
    TIME FOR SOME GOOGLE:

So I jumped on google for the answer. I found tons of links and good code and great explinations. And none of them made any sence. I eventually came accross an article on "Late Binding". Yes! this is what I'm looking for. Insert more Google's. Again, none of the samples fit what I need to do.

Here is the code that works with "Early Binding":