PhotoStory3 style image slideshow using WM9 Image Codec RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I am new to Windows Media SDK and am working to build an image slideshow (from set of jpg/bmp images) along with audio narration just like PhotoStory3. I want to use the WM9 Image Codec to ensure good quality images and to keep file size small.

Can anyone in this forum point to sample code examples or other articles that can help me in this effort. Also, can this project be done using DirectShow Editing Services (but with Image codecs) or do I have to rely solely on Windows Media Format SDK for getting this done.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Sam

Monday, September 10, 2007 4:28 PM

Answers

All replies

• I believe you have to use the WM Format SDK to do this. 

Some docs to get you started: http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa392242.aspx

Here's the WMFSDK newsgroup if you have any other questions about this: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/windowsmedia/community/newsgroups/WindowsMedia/default.mspx?dg=microsoft.public.windowsmedia.sdk&lang=en&cr=US

Monday, September 17, 2007 4:04 PM
  • Hi Becky and other forum members,

Thanks for your reply. I have tries to develop a solution using Media Format SDK. However, I am stuck with video configuration issues regarding profile, stream and input media. I will greatly appreciate if you could help me with the following.

I made a test profile identical to one of PhotoStory's built-in profiles. This profile has 2 streams - audio (major type = WMMEDIATYPE_Audio and sub type = WMMEDIASUBTYPE_WMAudioV8) and video (major type = WMMEDIATYPE_Video and sub type = WMMEDIASUBTYPE_WMVP which is Video 9 Image codec instead of WMMEDIASUBTYPE_WVP2 which is Video 9.1 Image codec). I am using the earlier version of the image codec since the latest version is not supported on Windows 2000 and I need the codec to be supported on both Windows 2000 and XP.