none
Should move mailbox to Office 365 on working hours RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

Can you let me know what may impact to user operations if we migrate mailboxes to Office 365 on working hours? For example using hybrid deployment, staged migration and cut-over.

What I understand is that:
    - Cut-Over: Because of one single batch for all mailboxes with not large number of users so it should be only cautions at the time changing MX record. During the migration may reduce performance for user accessing their mailboxes?
    - Staged migration: Should not migrate on working hours because we have no idea the exact time that one mailbox on a batch finished so it's quite difficult in supporting users.
    - Hybrid migration: Just want to know more from all of you, just I know that even we don't have to re-create outlook profile but I have no experience about the time it will takes to sync attribute to O365 right after one mailbox migration finished.

Thanks a lot !

Sunday, October 12, 2014 4:08 AM

Answers

• HI Duc,

During working hours isnt the best option.Depends on how many mailbox and total size it will consume your bandwidth.Users will experience poor connectivity to outlook.If you have large amount of mailboxes and it spans over multiple countries,then best would be to do one for each country or whole migration during weekend.

I have been moving over 600 mailboxes so far in a hybrid environment.We are only half way and hopefully will be done during next week.Reason we do multiple batches,is because we experience unstable speed.At best so far we manage to get 230MB/min.Also experience migration of some mailboxes stops/fails now and then,so have to remove failed mailboxes and create new batch (nothing wrong with mailboxes,just losing connection to office365).Configuration from our side we cannot see any error that cause slow speed and that migration of certain mailboxes fails(some as low as 100MB in size and less than 1000 items and 100 folders).