none
Exception handling and EventArgs.Error

Question

• First thing first, I am new to Rx and hence this question can be very naive for you champs.

I am using Rx to call wcf service from my Silverlight 5 app like this:

IObservable<IEvent<ResonantServiceReference.SetCampusCompletedEventArgs>> observable =
    					Observable.FromEvent<ResonantServiceReference.SetCampusCompletedEventArgs>(client, "SetCampusCompleted").Take(1);

observable.Subscribe(
    					e =>
    					{
    						if (e.EventArgs.Error == null)
    						{
    						//some logic here
    						}
    					},
    					ex => { throw ex; }
    					);
    				client.SetCampusAsync(campus, UserInformation.SecurityToken);

Now I want to throw an exception from my service when the provided SecurityToken(that I pass when calling the service method) is wrong. However, when I throw an System.Exception from my service, it is received in e.EventArgs.Error (above). I would make this better using FaultContractAttribute at a later stage.

My question is why doesn't the exception get caught in ex=>{ throw ex; } block (I checked it using debugger)? What is e.EventArgs.Error and how is it different from ex above? Also what is the correct way of catching exceptions (using try...catch) considering these calls are async?

Also, I would be very thankful if someone finds anything wrong in my above code, or has a better suggestion.

Thanks in advance

Dharmesh

Tuesday, December 11, 2012 11:14 PM

Answers

• Hi Dharmesh,

To call a WCF service asynchronously, you must generate a proxy with async support; e.g., the preferred Task-based *Async methods (.NET 4.5), legacy Begin* and End* methods (known as "APM"), or legacy *Async methods with corresponding *Completed events (known as "EBAP" or "EAP").

It looks like you're using the latter (EBAP) since you're converting a SetCampusCompleted event into an observable and then calling the SetCampusAsync method.