Custom User Control Running Multiple Times RRS feed

• Question

• User680026537 posted

Hello,

I have a strange problem that I ran across testing something else on my site.  On my Default.aspx page, I register a user control and call it to render and fill in some HTML on the page.

<%@ Register Src="controls/Home/GetFriendFeed.ascx" TagName="GetFriendFeed" TagPrefix="uc1" %>

<uc1:GetFriendFeed ID="GetFriendFeed1" runat="server" />

When I go to Default.aspx, it calls the control once, not a problem.  I have a nested MasterPage (not sure if that is the cause), that is the same for both of these pages.  When I go to another page, profile.aspx, that does NOT have the @Register or the user control anywhere on the page, the user control executes 3 times. 

I'm not sure what the cause of this is.  Any help or advice of where to look would be helpful!

Thank you

Sunday, April 10, 2011 6:25 PM

All replies

• User-610330605 posted

You have mentioned that the control is not registered in the second page.

Is the control registered in Web.config or Master page?

Is the control added in the page in the ASPX or dynamically in code behind?

Tuesday, April 12, 2011 10:37 AM
  • User680026537 posted

Hi Jerry,

I only have the reference to the user control on Default.aspx and use it on Default.aspx.  I don't have the @Register on any other page, specifically the masterpages, where I first thought the problem might be, and I don't have it in the web.config file. 

I'm not sure how long it has been like this, but I just noticed it after I introduced nesting masterpages on this page.

Any ideas? 

Wednesday, April 13, 2011 5:46 PM
  • User1957418580 posted

Can you give us an idea of your directory structure and how your master pages are nested?  Also, how do you determine that the control runs 3 times?  Have you set breakpoints in it?

Monday, April 18, 2011 6:30 AM
  • User680026537 posted