List Object RRS feed

• Question

• User-1577735185 posted

I'm pretty new to c# and building a simple api to read from a database.  So please forgive any massive amounts of id10t error.  I'm attempting to loop an sqlreader and write the results to a list.  I've consrtucted two data objects ServerAndRole and ServersAndRoles. When I read through the sql reader I can see using debug writeline that I am outputing the data i want but my final list of servers and roles ends up with all the same object in the list. so it looks like each loop is just rewriting the data.

the constructor for server and role:

public class ServerAndRole 
        {
            private Int32 i_ServerID;
            private Int32 i_RoleID;
           [DataMember]
            public Int32 ServerID
            {
                get { return i_ServerID; }
                set { i_ServerID = value; }
            }
            [DataMember]
            public Int32 RoleID
            {
                get { return i_RoleID; }
                set { i_RoleID = value; }
            }
    }

For ServersAndRoles

[KnownType(typeof(ServerAndRole))]
        public class ServersAndRoles : List<ServerAndRole>
        {

private List<ServerAndRole> s_ServerAndRole;
            [DataMember]
            public List<ServerAndRole> ServerAndRole
            {
                get { return s_ServerAndRole; }
                set { s_ServerAndRole = value; }
            }
        }

and the loop

while (reader.Read())
                {
                    adServerAndRoleDResult.ServerID = reader.SafeGetInt32(reader.GetOrdinal("ServerID"));
                    adServerAndRoleDResult.RoleID = reader.SafeGetInt32(reader.GetOrdinal("RoleID"));
                    Debug.WriteLine(adServerAndRoleDResult.ServerName);
                    adServersAndRolesDResult.Add(adServerAndRoleDResult);
                }

The Debug.WriteLine is showing me each servername.