none
Showing the tags of the shapes on a slide using office.js. RRS feed

• Question

• Hi there,

I am developing an office.js content add-in for PowerPoint.

As I am new to the API (did vsto before ms made it impossible to add life web pages to slides) I thought I'd go for something easy to get to know office.js.

So the goal is to build a content add-in that list's all the tags of all the shapes that sit on the current slide (current as in "the slide that the user is currently seeing").

Starting with current slide.

It seems there is no way to determine the currently selected slide.

The thing closest to that may be getSelectedDataAsync. But that function only gives you the current selection range. So if you have a presentation with slides A, B, C and the user selects A, C, B (in that order) she sees slide B. No way to know for my add-in.

Am I overlooking something? Is the API actually not able to get me the most basic information about the current working state of my users?

And now to the complicated stuff. How to read the tags.

Is getFileAsync the way to go? I've followed the example code on the page. The example assumes it loads text. The data that I get is not text.

So Now I have a buffer filled with some odd data that may or may not be of a some evenly odd type, named 'Office.FileType.Compressed'.

How do I get to the slides, shapes, tags? Where is the documentation?

Could you give me some pointers please?

Wednesday, July 26, 2017 8:30 AM

Answers

• Hi O.Hafn,

Yes, that is a C# code sample to list the tags on the specific slide. In your scenario, you can post the presentation file and the slide index to a service. And in the service, you can use the Open XML SDK like the code sample provided above to return the result to the client.

And to work with Linux, we can use the Open XML SDK for .Net core. Then you can develop an web API as a service using the .net core.

Hope it is helpful.

Regards & Fei