Concurrency task groups RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to the Microsoft Concurrency Runtime (and asynchronous programming in general), and I'm trying to understand what can and can't be done with it. Is it possible to create a task group such that the tasks execute in the order in which they were added, and any task doesn't start until the previous one ends?

I'm trying to understand if there's a more general and devolved way of dealing with tasks compared to chaining several tasks within a single member function. For example, let's say I have a program that creates resources at different points in the program, and the order in which the resources are created matters. Could any resource creation function that was called simply append a task to the end of a central task list, with the result that the tasks execute in the order in which they were added (i.e. the order in which the resource creation functions were called)?

Thanks,

RobertF

Sunday, July 1, 2012 4:42 PM

All replies

• How to: Implement Various Producer-Consumer Patterns

The following is signature, not part of post
    Please mark the post answered your question as the answer, and mark other helpful posts as helpful, so they will appear differently to other users who are visiting your thread for the same problem.
    Visual C++ MVP

Sunday, July 1, 2012 5:22 PM
  • Hi,

For addition, you can try to use Scheduler Instances. Please follow these samples

How to: Manage a Scheduler Instance

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee513829.aspx

How to: Specify Specific Scheduler Policies

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/dd984038.aspx

Best regards,

Jesse

Jesse Jiang [MSFT]
    MSDN Community Support | Feedback to us

Monday, July 2, 2012 7:29 AM
  • Thanks for the links, but since I'm trying to get an idea of the limitations of the task class, I think that may be taking me off-course a little bit. The tasks I had in mind don't need to communicate or share data.