How to connect a local database to a web developer 2010 express project on a network drive? RRS feed

• Question

• I am a newbie with this product.  I downloaded Visual Web Developer 2010 Express which is running on a network drive.  I opened a default ASPX web site with this tool.  I also download SQL server 2008R2 Express which is running on my local C: drive.  It has a default database called 'Master'.   I am running Windows7 pro 32 bit and IIS 6.0

This default web site has Database connection with a login script.   When I run this login script I got an error.

Failed to generate a user instance of SQL Server due to a failure in starting the process for the user instance. The connection will be closed.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code.

SQLExpress database file auto-creation error:

The connection string specifies a local Sql Server Express instance using a database location within the application's App_Data directory. The provider attempted to automatically create the application services database because the provider determined that the database does not exist. The following configuration requirements are necessary to successfully check for existence of the application services database and automatically create the application services database:

1. If the application is running on either Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008R2, special configuration steps are necessary to enable automatic creation of the provider database. Additional information is available at: http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=160102. If the application's App_Data directory does not already exist, the web server account must have read and write access to the application's directory. This is necessary because the web server account will automatically create the App_Data directory if it does not already exist.