navigate to screen and activate state of a user component? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi There

I have 2 screens. On screen1 I have a user control that contains a datagrid. I configured two states in my user control that shows either a blank grid or a grid with some data.

So from screen 2, I want to click a button and have it navigate to screen 1, but show the user control in a particular state. Is this possible or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Do I need to create a two states in my screen1, and have two different copies of my user control with the specific attributes set in each?

and yes, I'm a sketchflow newbie of several days experience so don't assume I know too much :)   thanks for any help you can give me.

cheers

Andrew
    Thursday, March 4, 2010 4:48 AM

All replies

• Hi Andrew,

I've been trying to do a similar thing with a state that highlights a navigation item when entering a screen. I haven't had a whole lot of luck as yet but one solution I did find was to add an ActivateState behaviour to that screen that is triggered when you load the screen that you want your state change applied to.

Apologies but I can't get to my Skecthflow files at the moment for the exact specifics of this. I'll append them to this post later.

That said, this works for me only sometimes. I can't get it to work in all cases and am completely baffled as to why. I will try and keep you posted on what I learn or perhaps some other people in the forum will have some ideas.

Best regards,

Greg.
    Thursday, March 4, 2010 5:49 AM
  • Thanks Greg

I've tried placing the grid directly into my screen1. From my screen2, I try to call ActivateStateAction with TargetScreen="Project.Screen1" and TargetState="ShowDataInGrid"