none
Cascade delete in Entity Framework 6 fails to delete dependents. RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Eternity Framework 6 and I read that by default Cascade Delete is enabled. I currently have the following models

public class Student
    {
        public int Id { get; set; }

public List<Sport> Sports { get; set; }

public string StudentName { get; set; }
    }

public class Sport
    {

public string SportName { get; set; }

public List<Coach> {get; set;} 
    }

public class Coach
    {

public string CoachName { get; set; }
    }

This is what my context looks like

public class MyContext: DbContext
    {
            public MyContext(): base("name=MContext")
            {
            }
            public DbSet<Student> Students{ get; set; }
    }

Now this is how I am removing Sports played by a student. If cascade delete is turned on then all the coaches who are associated with a Sport should also be deleted but they are not being deleted.

This is how I am removing items //Currently there is only 1 student in the DB 

Student st = context.Students.SingleOrDefault();

// Get all the Sports of this student this.context.Entry(st).Collection(x => x.Sports).Load(); // Clear the actions dm.Sports.Clear();

The above basically assigns the Foreign Key of Student in Sports Table to NULL and it does not delete any of the associated coaches with a sport in Coach Table. Any suggestions on why the Coach name is not being deleted and how I can fix this ?

A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle.

Tuesday, September 10, 2019 10:59 PM

All replies

• Hi,

Did you try the method "WillCascadeOnDelete()"? Here I found a thread may help you.

https://stackoverflow.com/a/17487948/8335151

Regards,

Kyle

MSDN Community Support