Extent of app development possible with HTML/CSS/Javascript

General discussion

• Hi, I am new to Windows 8.1 app programming. I was browsing through the different books available, and I found there are two approaches, one is through C# and YAML (I guess kind of like what Apple offers through Objective C, Cocoa and Interface Builder), and another though HTML/CSS/Javascript.

Is there any advantage that one approach offers over the other? For example, are there stuff which can be done though C# and YAML that is not possible though HTML/Javascript alone, maybe some APIs are not exposed or something? Or is it that whatever can done through C# can be done though HTML/Javascript as well?

Thursday, July 17, 2014 8:00 PM

All replies

• There are a few narrow differences, but for the most part anything that can be done via one UI can be done via the other. In almost all cases the right choice is the one that you are most familiar with.

Regardless of if your UI is HTML or Xaml you can write and call into Windows Runtime Components written in .Net or C++ for lower level support.

--Rob

Thursday, July 17, 2014 8:31 PM
  • So the Javascript (I guess it is a custom JS for Windows 8.1 development, not exactly same as the Javascript we use for web development) exposes APIs to access pretty much everything, like access to file system, startup and shutdown, activity of user on the desktop, etc?
    Thursday, July 17, 2014 8:36 PM
  • No, it's standard HTML5 and JavaScript.

The WinJS library includes controls to match the Windows Store design language. While this is designed for Windows Store apps it is cross-platform and open source and can be used in browsers and other devices.