none
Using VB6 on Vista RRS feed

• Question

• Is VB6 support on Vista as a development language?

I have a VB6 application (which is pretty big), but when I come to compile it on Vista RC2 is fails to register all the activeX dlls that are build as part of the application.

I did manage to get round it, but  only by running VB6 as Administrator. In a day to day dev environment I don't want to do this every time. I am a local admin so why doesn't this allow VB to register my dlls.

Does this behavior have something to do with UAC?

Thanks for your help

Graham

Monday, October 23, 2006 11:48 AM

Answers

• This is a UAC issue. 

We’ve been testing the Visual Basic 6.0 SP6 runtime and IDE on Vista builds since earlier this year.  Both run and install successfully on Vista RTM and are supported per the support statement posted at http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/vbrun/ms788708.aspx

The Visual Basic 6.0 IDE and SP6 setup needs to be run with UAC on, with the local user running as Admin, running with elevated privileges (right click on the setup exe and select “Run As Administrator…”). 

Applications based on the Visual Basic 6.0 runtime need to be run under the same security/runtime settings (UAC/Admin/Elevated).  This allows actions like registry reads/writes possible under UAC control.

Please reply back if you application does not work under these settings.

Also, refer to http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/vstudio/aa948853.aspx for information about running Visual Basic 2005 under UAC on Vista.

Thanks,

Chris Mayo

Visual Basic Program Manager

Thursday, November 30, 2006 4:09 AM

All replies

• I know most of you will probably know this already, but...

On further reading for some Vista docs it appears that UAC means that all interactive users run as a standard user, even if the logged on user is a member of the Administators group.