new to ldap programming RRS feed

• Question

• User124969076 posted

Hi all,

I need some help here.  I'm totally new to ldap programming with .net.  I'm trying to connect to the AD to retrieve the group information about a particular user.  Thing is, I'm not even sure am I even on the right track or not.  Does anyone know where I can find resources on this topic??  Seems like there isn't really anything helpful off google.

Thanks a million!!

Jovena

Tuesday, July 3, 2007 2:12 AM

Answers

• User1588321482 posted

Basically you are interested in two classes of DirectoryServices the DirectoryEntry and the DirectorySearcher. It is likely you won't know the path in AD to the object you are after but you might know the Account Alias, the displayname or something else. Therefore, you can search for the object and return certain attributes for the objects that are returned. This all starts to make more sense if you can browse your AD directory from a LDAP perspective, I use the Resource Kit utility LDP.exe but others also exist. Then you can visualise the directory and searching becomes easier when you know what you are searching for.

With LDAP you have three parts to a search:

The connection (either to a server or serverless)

The Search Criteria (or filter)

The attributes you want returning from the search

From the above you will get back a recordset of the objects that match your filter and then you can iterate through and ask for the values of the attributes that have been returned (AD is limited to returning 1,000 objects so if you search may return more you would have to using paging)

So how do you find an LDAP server in your environment? Well if you drop to a command-prompt and type "set logonserver" you will get back the server that authenticated you when you logged on, this will be a domain controller and should support an LDAP connection.