none
Problem in auto generated classes using VS2008 RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,
    Since I'm new to the concepts of linq to sql, I'm getting confused. After creating a "Linq to Sql Classes" item in an Asp.net web application, I Drag&Drop my needed tables from Server Explorer into the design surface, the tables are shown graphically there with their relationships.
    What I expect is that VS create a .CS file for each of my entities and I can see the code for each entity and their properties and a DataContext class, but what I get is only a .dbml file containing a .dbml.layout file and a .designer.cs file.
    So there is no class created for any of my entities, when I right-click on any of the classes in the design surface and choose "View Code", VS creates and opens a .cs file with same name as the .dbml file that I've created before, and there is a class in it named after my table in DB, but without any properties in it, It's an empty class!

Am I expecting too much from VS or anyone know what's happening?!
    Thanks in advance
    Friday, July 10, 2009 7:13 PM

All replies

• The classes created are in the .designer.cs file.

When you do "view code" it creates a partial class that extends the one it has already created in the .designer.cs so you can add your code in the new one and it will maintain the .designer.cs (so don't modify that one, it will be overwritten).

[)amien
    • Marked as answer by Damien GuardModerator Saturday, July 11, 2009 2:21 AM
    • Unmarked as answer by Ashki Saturday, July 11, 2009 10:59 AM
    Saturday, July 11, 2009 2:21 AM
  • Thanks for your reply Damien,
    But unfortunately the .designer.cs file is also empty, not even a line of code in it.
    Any idea what's happening here?

Actually there is no class corresponding to my entity in the DB created for me here.
    Saturday, July 11, 2009 5:04 AM
  • I assume you are not getting any errors or warnings?