Linked Data Sets on Screen RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, 

Hopefully this is a simple question, but I'm stumped. I'm using VS2012.

I have a master detail screen, and I want to add a new detail table to it. The table has a relationship defined (I have tried using implicit Fk relationships and explicit LS relationships).

When I add the table using Add Data Item, it gets created, but no link is established. But if I create a new screen from scratch the link is there. As far as I can see, the difference is that there is arrow between the two tables when I create a screen from scratch, but I am unable to make that happen if the screen is already there when I add the table. 

So what am I missing?

Thanks, 

Mark

Friday, May 24, 2013 7:09 AM

All replies

• If you look at the collection (say Customers) in the left panel of the designer, you will see that it contains a node called Selected Item, below which are the properties for the item. If you drag the Selected Item onto the designer, it will add the required controls to display the details. This automatically creates the link between the list and the individual item.

Hope this helps. If you need any more help, please post back and explain where you're having problems.

P.S. Just to add on, there is nothing special about any of the screen templates. They just set some stuff up for you to save a bit of time. You could use any template and modify it to create any kind of screen layout.

FREE custom controls for Lightswitch! A collection of useful controls for Lightswitch developers. Download from the Visual Studio Gallery.

If you're really bored, you could read about my experiments with .NET and some of Microsoft's newer technologies at http://dotnetwhatnot.pixata.co.uk/

• Edited by Mr Yossu Friday, May 24, 2013 1:35 PM Added P.S.
    • Proposed as answer by Garth F Henderson Tuesday, May 28, 2013 1:21 PM
    Friday, May 24, 2013 1:34 PM
  • Thanks for the reply.