none
How to update a lokal database online? Web Service? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everybody..

I develope a C#.NET Application  that uses a lokal database. This SW will be used by several (~100) users from different locations. We have a SQL Server 2005. The application has to connect to this database and get or send some rows from a few tables (lets say  "run a query")(a full synchronisation is not needed).

Actually I want to use a Web Service to do this. But I have no experience with it. I wanted to ask whether thisis the best solution for my problem? What are the securty problems. How can i solve them?

Thanks....

Wednesday, July 11, 2007 5:37 AM

Answers

•  MA. wrote:

Hi everybody..

I develope a C#.NET Application that uses a lokal database. This SW will be used by several (~100) users from different locations. We have a SQL Server 2005. The application has to connect to this database and get or send some rows from a few tables (lets say "run a query")(a full synchronisation is not needed).

Actually I want to use a Web Service to do this. But I have no experience with it. I wanted to ask whether thisis the best solution for my problem? What are the securty problems. How can i solve them?

Thanks....

I have created multiple web services at my past/ current jobs which handled large amounts of data. I have not run into any problems with large amounts of data.

The webservice is a great option because you have the DAL in the webservice and the user does not have to have any client side database specific modules installed to access the database. That is all on the web service. I recommend you use a web service and have the business logic and the DAL in that area and allow your consumers to access the web service.

Wednesday, July 11, 2007 3:29 PM
  • 100 kb is not a problem Smile

large would be in the magnitude of MB's

Hope this helps you out 

Thursday, July 12, 2007 8:41 PM