Getting an extra link button. RRS feed

• Question

• User-1555166455 posted

Hi folks. I'm wondering if anyone else has ever had this problem. I'm building a website. I created 5 links. Then I created the pages to go with and added more css code for them. 

Suddenly I notice two things. The first was that a line of code turned red, indicating it was not working. I had the padding around an image changed from silver to blue. I now notice that along with the red code text, the color reverted back to silver. 

Now, the really weird part. I had originally pasted 6 link buttons instead of the five I needed. I deleted one of them. No prob. However, at the same time I noticed my padding color changed back to silver, I now have 6 buttons. One has no name which is not surprising as there is no markup( is that the right term? I started studying html/css only a month ago.) for it. What is really strange is that the phantom link button works. It takes me to the same page as the link below it. I've looked at my code so many times and there are just 5 lines of code. I suspected it was a memory problem so I cut and pasted all my html and css code from notepad ++ onto a word document, downloaded a different editor (Komodo) started with a fresh new doc, pasting my code on it, and it is STILL doing it. Very frustrating.  

I took some screenshots but this insert image doesn't take uploads.    Any logical suggestions would be appreciated.

BuddyBoy

Saturday, March 7, 2020 6:27 PM

All replies

• User288213138 posted

Hi buddyboy,

The first was that a line of code turned red, indicating it was not working. I had the padding around an image changed from silver to blue. I now notice that along with the red code text, the color reverted back to silver

Can you explain this sentence to me in detail? You did not modify the code, then the red code text became normal?