none
Is there a forum for beginners? RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to Expression Web (and web design of any kind.) I'd like to start with one template and make a simple web site with 8-10 pages. I would like to be able to change the names of the categories, of course, for instance "products" or "services" or "about" to "construction" "remodeling" and "design," for instance. And I would like to pick my own fonts and colors.

Any thoughts?  Is there a room for newbies here? 

Best regards,

Bill Phillips, Durham, NC

Bill Phillips Durham, North Carolina www.northcarolinapeople.blogspot.com www.handheldtechtoys.blogspot.com
    Thursday, August 11, 2011 1:01 AM

All replies

• Read the "FAQ ... Before Posting" post at the top.  To get a good understanding of what you need to learn, read the first link.  Then scroll down to the Resources section where you'll find online resources, including a basic site tutorial that will walk you through making a basic site in EW, to learn these things.  When you have specific questions, you can ask them here.
    Thursday, August 11, 2011 1:33 AM
  • Sure is, lots of room. But...

You can't learn the basics in a forum; you need some structure. Look up in the Forum FAQ thread above and there are learning resources linked to in there.

Start with Cheryl's at www.by-expression.com (download the materials to work along). That'll give you the basics of EW and some of HTML and CSS (it was done for an earlier version of EW, so some of the items may be in a different spot on the menu in EW4, but it's all the same).

There's some good stuff in the Learn tab at the top, and for HTML and CSS, go to the w3schools tutorials linked in the FAQ.

This stuff ain't rocket science, it's only brain surgery. So don't be intimidated by any of it.

Some people are like Slinkys; not really good for anything...but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
    Thursday, August 11, 2011 1:34 AM