none
Query result is readonly when I select fields RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to Linq and I must missunderstand something of the concept of Linq. Working with Northwind, when I do:

Dim orders = _
            From o In db.Orders
            Where o.CustomerID.Contains("A") _
            Select o

With this code I am able to change fields and update with db.SubmitChanges() sucessfully.

I can also bind it to a DataGridView, edit, update. That's really cool.

But when I do:

Dim orders = _
            From o In db.Orders
            Select o.CutomerID, o.CompanyName

The returned Fields become ReadOnly. Why is that? Would'nt it be cool to be able to bind this to a DataGridView, edit and update? Is there any easy way to do this?

Similar if I do:

Dim orders = _
          From o In db.Orders
          Select New CustomerDatagrid With { _
              .CustomerID = d.CustomerID, _
              .CompanyName = d.Customers.CompanyName}

With this query and the generated custom class I am able to bind and edit, but no changes are saved with db.SubmitChanges(). While it is very easy to constuct, bind and display a new custom class - why dos the connections to the datasource gets lost?

After two days of reading, googeling and thinking I need your help!!

Leo

• Edited by Leo Vetterli Sunday, September 25, 2011 4:54 PM typo..
    Sunday, September 25, 2011 4:51 PM

Answers

• Hi Leo;

To your question, "•How can I return a Read/Write Type then? For example when I query with "Select o.CutomerID, o.CompanyName"?", The only way to return an Anonymous type that is Read/Write is to define it as follows :

Select New With { .CustomerID = o.CutomerID, .CompanyName = o.CompanyName }