none
OutOfMemoryException handling ThreadPool RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new with C# coding and I have this problem. I have a service that needs to run forever in order to monitor one server. In order to do so I have 5 tasks that need to be done by the service (5 at the moment, there are going to be hundreads). I created a threadpool with maximum 5 threads. There is a queue that the threads use in order to get the task, then each thread processes the task and then enqueues it again. The queue contains objects with 5 small attributes.

After the service runs for a while I get an OutOfMemoryException, at the line where I execute this:

ThreadPool

.QueueUserWorkItem(currentJob.ProcessJob, (object

)timeToWwait);

The timeToWwait is an int and I don's use it anymore.

Do you have any suggestions? Please...

Thanks!

Oana

Thursday, December 22, 2011 10:57 PM

All replies

• Hi,

can you give more details? typically a OutOfMemoryException can happen everywhere where some meomory is allocated. This must not be the location, where the problem exist.

- Did you check for IDisposable objects that you do not dispose? That is the cause for more memory leaks I have seen.
    - Are you sure, that you release the resources when you are no longer using them? (So do not keep references to objects that you no longer need!)

And one way is to use a memory profiler to find where you use how much memory. (Maybe see http://stackoverflow.com/questions/49912/best-net-memory-and-performance-profiler)

Maybe you can give more parts of the code so we can see if we find anything obvious.

With kind regards,

Konrad

Friday, December 23, 2011 10:13 AM