Workflow Timing and Email question RRS feed

• Question

• Greetings,

I am new to this forum but will try to be concise in my questions. I am somewhat new to SPD and workflows so these maybe easy questions for some of you please bear with me. I am using WSS 3.0 and SPD 2007. I am also not a programmer in any sense and as such have little or no practical knowledge of Visual Studio.

1. Let me try and explain the process. A user inspects a location and then when they have finished their inspection they use a custom list to record data. When user1 finishes they set a value in the list from FALSE to TRUE. This then fires off a workflow to email User2 that they need to audit User1's work. The problem is this there are specific user2's that are assigned to audit  specific locations but they change frequently as this is a large facility. In a perfect world I would like User1 upon completion(changing field value from FALSE to TRUE)  to be able to use a people picker to select which user2 they will send the notification to. I have tried to follow Charles Lee's blog advice here (http://www.simple-talk.com/community/blogs/charleslee/archive/2009/10/28/75810.aspx) but have had no luck in implementation. Does anyone know a good way to accomplish this?
    2. In this same list the user1 is required to complete their work by day 20 of each month. I have been trying to work with the worflow variables but see no way to setup a variable as you can in say outlook where it sets a meeting on X day of every month. Does this functionality exisit and if so how could I accomplish this.

Thank you in advance for your assistance

Kevin

• Moved by Wayne Fan Monday, February 28, 2011 8:00 AM It's SharePoint 2007 issue, thanks. (From:SharePoint 2010 - Using SharePoint Designer, Infopath, and other customization)