Can I C++ Const an Immutable F# Array Function Parameter? RRS feed

• Question

• The fact that everything in F# is immutable by default is a great benefit to me in that it keeps me from doing many retarded things that would cause bugs.  This feature alone makes F# worlds better than VB.NET and C#, but I am still new to the language and have some things to learn.  I know that the F# List is immutable and can’t be changed when it is passed into a function.   For this reason, I prefer F# Lists over their mutable counterpart F# Arrays; unfortunately, immutable F# Lists have an O(N) lookup time compared to the O(1) lookup time of F# Arrays.  This presents a bit of a problem for me.

As I understand F# now, if I want the O(1) lookup time of F# Arrays,  I must apparently sacrifice the benefit of immutability and expose myself to potential bugs as I create more opportunities for my stupidity to abound.  In C++, I can pass a mutable array to a function and keep that function from modifying the mutable array by applying the “const” keyword to the array param of the function.  Here is some demo code of how I might do that:

#include "stdafx.h"
    #include <iostream>

using namespace std;

// Gets the average of the "numList"
    //
    // The "int const * const" type on
    // "numList" ensures that numList can't be changed inside this
    // "average" function even if the passed in array is mutable
    //
    // If I were to try to assign anything to numList inside this function,
    // I would get a comile time error
    int const average(int const * const numList, int const length) {
    unsigned int testSum = 0;
    for (unsigned int i = 0; i < length; i++) {
    testSum += numList[i];
    }
    return testSum / length;
    }

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
    {
    // A mutable C++ array of test scores
    int const testScoresLength = 4;
    int testScores[testScoresLength] = { 70, 90, 85, 100};
    cout << average(testScores, testScoresLength) << endl;