none
WCF, Client, Hosting and XML Creation confusion!!! RRS feed

• Question

• Hello to all

I'm pretty new to this services thing. I was asked at work to build a web service in order to have a web page that a user could access, enter a couple of data (Agent Number, phone number and coordinates)  and the web service should return an XML which will allow some coworkers in other group to fill a new DB. I'm just confused in how all of this work. 

I did my homework though. I get the coordinates of the user using an HTML 5 implementation. I could implement HTML easily on a ASP web app. I also created a WCF Service following this tutorial:

WCF Service creation tutorial

(Only the corresponding endpoint was used of course)

Now, here's come my confusion... in what part of the work is where actually I have the corresponding XML needed for my guys?? I mean... I created a WCF service and it works hosted on a console app.

Here's a link to my SkyDrive where you can download my simple WCF solution and projects: 

Skydrive link

As you see, I have a simple method that returns the latitude. Very simple... I just want to know how this works. 

Again, my doubts comes in this part...

I need to create a client?... maybe an ASP web application and through it, calling my client.method thing, I would pass it the variable which contains the latitude no? (When I get it from the user of course) It would work, considering that the service method it's just returning it's own parameter. 

Then, when it actually returns it... that's when corresponding XML is created?? So I actually create the corresponding XML file filled with information when actually the user consume the service via the ASP web app? 

I'm in the correct path? Or I'm terribly misguided? Please! A little bit of help with these concepts will be REALLY appreciated.

- Samy
    • Edited by SamyCode Friday, January 24, 2014 3:40 AM
    Friday, January 24, 2014 3:38 AM

Answers