none
Design question: Where would you instanciate your EntityModelContainer? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I'm new to the Entity Framework, I am using 4.1 using the DbContext code generator. It really works like a charm, but I am wondering where/how I should instanciate the container and wether or not it's a good idea to keep it alive for very long.

The application is a desktop client WPF application that uses some of the MVVM concepts.

At the moment I am struggling in choosing one of three approaches:

myApp.Infrastructure - Container declared as a public static object.

This approach sounds easy, instanciate the container at application's startup and access it as a static class. However I'm concerned about someone keeping the application up for too long and because of this, everytime I must use the container, I must ensure the container contains the latest data from the database before showing the data to the user. Some users may never close the application.

myApp.ViewModels - Container declared as a private object as part of the ViewModel's ctor.

This approach would ensure that each time a ViewModel is instanciated, the container pulls fresh values from the database. However because a user might keep a single window open for weeks, the concerns I have about the static method would still apply.

As needed - Instanciate container only when a DB call is needed through a using block.

This approach actually looks weird to me! Basically, any access to the container would be enclosed within a using block. It sounds like this option would require more work for concurrency logic and wouldn't take advantage of some of the features of the container: CurrentValues, OriginalValues and GetDatabaseValues(). But at the same time, I ensure I am always working with recent data.