none
Running VBA code from a drop down menu RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

I've been trying to run a code if a select an item from a drop down menu in Excel and it's been a nightmare. Mind that I'm very new at this so bear with me.

Basically, what I want to do is something along these lines:

Suppose that in the drop down menu there Option 1 and Option 2 listed. If I select Option 1, then it will do something like:

CellA3 = CellA1-CellA2

If I select Option 2, then it will do:

CellA3 = CellA1+CellA2

I know it probably may seem really stupid, but I'd really appreciate if someone could help me.

Thanks in advance to whoever answers

Felipe

Friday, March 14, 2014 1:21 AM

All replies

• Try the following code. Because you say you are new to VBA, to install this code it goes into the worksheets module.

Right click worksheet tab name and select View code. (this should open the VBA editor)

Copy the code below and paste into the editor.

Save as Macro Enabled workbook.

Ensure you have enabled macros. See Help for how to do this. Setting to "Disable all macros with notification should be OK"

Note the comments. (Comments are in green and prefixed with a single quote. These lines are not code but explanation to the user.)

Do not rename the Sub otherwise it will not work. It is called Event code which runs when a change takes place on the worksheet.

Private Sub Worksheet_Change(ByVal Target As Range)

On Error GoTo ReEnableEvents
        Application.EnableEvents = False

Dim strAddress As String

strAddress = "C1"   'Edit "C1" to the cell with the dropdown

'The If statement below only allows the sub to progress if the
        'Target is cell C1 (or whatever cell address is in strAddress variable).
        If Target.Address(0, 0) = strAddress Then
            Select Case Target.Value
                Case "Option 1"
                    Range("A3") = Range("A1") - Range("A2")

Case "Option 2"
                    Range("A3") = Range("A1") + Range("A2")