none
Is it okay to call private method in constructor and call class public method with object initializer? RRS feed

• Question

• In my class, i am creating a new token and calling service method which then delete a token. Instead of creating a new instance, generating new token and then calling service method, can i just create a new token in constructor and then call service method at the same time?

All the methods in GCService class require token to perform some operation like get balance, verify customer and etc.

I have read that it is legit to call non virtual methods in constructor. I have never used this approach before so not sure if its a normal practise and can this be improved?

First approach

Public Class Customer : Implements ICustomer
    {
       //creating a new instance , setting class properties in constructor and then calling class method.

Dim result = New GCService(a,b).GetBalance(a);
    }

public class GCService : IGCService
    {
    private string Token { get; set; }

//constructor 
    public GCService(string _a, string _a)
    {
        //set some properties and get token
        Token = GetToken(_a, _b);
    }

private string GetToken(string a, string b)
    {
        //get token and return response
        return response;
    }
    }

Second Approach

Public Class Customer : Implements ICustomer { //creating a new instance , setting class properties in constructor and then calling class method. Dim result = New GCService(a,b).GetBalance(a); } public class GCService : IGCService { private string Token { get; set; } //constructor public GCService(string _a, string _a) { //set some properties and get token }

public BalanceService GetBalance(string _a)

{

GetToken();

//call service method to get balance

} private string GetToken(string a,string b){ //get token and return response

return response; } }

• Edited by momer79 Wednesday, June 20, 2018 7:49 PM
    Wednesday, June 20, 2018 7:40 PM

All replies