How to implement WCF Data service to work with heterogeneous data source ? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all, 

I have a project on WCF. My plan is providing a shared database (SQL Db) to various clients throught OData.

The problem is this shared database can be changed dynamically at runtime: the users can add new tables, with different schema .... In this case, the data source might be very heterogeneous (in term of tables' schemas).

So, can we implement a UNIFIED WCF DS for a shared pool of data source with heterogeneous schema ?

ps: I also read this serie: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/alexj/archive/2010/01/04/creating-a-data-service-provider-part-1-intro.aspx but the problem is I'm new to wcf and I really need the code example of this article. I know that this example code was available at http://www.odata.org/developers/odata-sdk but now it does not.

I would grateful if someone who still have it would shared this example code for me. (OData Provider Toolkit code)

Thank you in advance.

Sunday, March 18, 2012 3:43 AM

Answers

• No, it doesn't mean you have to fetch the data before hand. All it means is that I don't know of a publicly available implementation of IQueryable which can generade SQL based on metadata which is not defined in terms of CLR classes, but rather some different data structure. I know it's possible, since I know of several projects which do this internally. Unfortunately such implementations are inherently tied to the actual project, since they use the project specific metadata as well as make assumptions about the underlying SQL database layout.

There are some public sources for this, for example http://iqtoolkit.codeplex.com/, but I didn't play with it myself to be able to tell if it is easy to reause in your case.

Thanks,

Vitek Karas [MSFT]

Thursday, April 12, 2012 7:54 AM

All replies

• Hi,

The download links on odata.org have been fixed, you should be able to download the samples now.

Thanks,

Vitek Karas [MSFT]