Timer not working in Windows Service RRS feed

• Question

• Hi. I'm new in windows service. I did a few test and I could install it. I add a small function in the start event and it run properly. but when I put it in timer event, it didn't run.

I just add a timer from toolbox and in its event i put the code:

Private Sub Timer1_Tick(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles Timer1.Tick

FileCopy("C:\a.txt", "D:\" & Format(Now, "hh-mm-ss") & ".txt")

End Sub

I feel that the timer didn't work... and can I use the windows form timer in a windows service?

Thanks.

Omar Mallat

Friday, October 27, 2006 6:13 PM

Answers

• i had a similar issue and found that using a system.timers.timer rather than a system.windows.forms.timer sorted it
    Thursday, June 14, 2007 2:12 PM

All replies

• Hi,

I guess the timer component relies on some one reading and dispatching windows messages from the message queue like it is down by the implementation of winforms. That is not the case in a service app.

To do work on a regular interval you could create a new thread which loops until some state tells it to quit. The thread would loop until it should finish and in that loop you would set the thread to sleep a while before doing its work again. Like so:

Public Sub YourThreadFunction()

Try

While True

DoSomeWork()  ' like your FileCopy operation
          Sleep 10000  ' sleep for 10 seconds

Wend

Catch e As ThreadAbortException

Thread.ResetAbort()

End Try

End Sub

The thread will run until Thread.Abort is called. E.g. in the Stop event of the service.

--
    SvenC

Friday, October 27, 2006 8:06 PM
  • i was Tryed using the Thread mechanisum,

In the Start method of the service i wrote the thread code but when i start the service the serivce not getting stated since the code is in the infinite while loop,

please suggest on this

Wednesday, June 6, 2007 9:18 AM