Verify input data type RRS feed

• Question

• Hi everyone, this is my first time messing with visual basic. I'm just learning how to do different things and right now I'm building a simple program to where the user inputs thier First and last name into two different text boxes and when they click on a button it tells them what they have entered.

I'm trying to make sure that they have entered letters only in each text box and if they don't I want it to display a message box that says they need to enter letters only. The problem I am having is if they enter a number in both text boxes then that is the only way that it will display the error message box. Here is my code for the data validation for the user input...

Private Sub Button1_Click(sender As System.Object, e As System.EventArgs) Handles

Button1.Click

If IsNumeric(TextBox1.Text)

And

IsNumeric(TextBox2.Text)

Then

MessageBox.Show("I'm sorry, the data you entered is not of the correct type. Please enter leters only.", "Wrong Data Type Entered", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon

.Error)

Else

MsgBox(

"You have entered " & TextBox1.Text & " "

& TextBox2.Text)

End

If

End

Sub

Any help you can give would be much appreciated, thanks! 

Friday, November 11, 2011 12:45 AM

Answers

• IsNumeric will only return True if the text can be converted to a numeric value. If the text contains digits but they do not represent a valid number, IsNumeric will return False.

Use code like this:
            Dim TestText As String = TextBox1.Text & TextBox2.Text

For Each c As Char In TestText

If Char.IsDigit(c) Then
                    MessageBox.Show("I'm sorry, the data you entered is not of the correct type. Please enter leters only.""Wrong Data Type Entered", MessageBoxButtons.OK, MessageBoxIcon.Error)

Exit Sub
                End If
            Next
            MsgBox("You have entered " & TextBox1.Text & " " & TextBox2.Text)