Windows Authentication in ASP.NET Core with Kestrel On Linux Plateform RRS feed

• Question

• User207833854 posted

Hello,
    I am not a developer but I work with others on the implementation of windows authentication in net.core on Linux platform. Apparently, this is now possible directly with Kestrel in version 3 preview
    So I tried, but without success. However, I followed the official MS documentation

"https://docs.microsoft.com/fr-fr/aspnet/core/security/authentication/windowsauth?view=aspnetcore-3.0&tabs=visual-studio=aspnetcore-3.0&tabs=visual-studio"

I tried the SDK 3.0 on two linux VMs, one in Debian 10 and the other in centOS 7.6.

I have configured my krb5.conf file correctly

I have registered my VM on my AD domain with success

I created a dot.net project with the command "dotnet new webapp --auth Windows".

I added the package "dotnet add package Microsoft.AspNetCore.Authentication.Negotiate --version 3.0.0-preview6.19307.2"

I created my SPN and keytab

setspn -S HTTP/mywebservice.coolcorp.priv pocvm

setspn -S HTTP/mywebservice@COOLCORP.COM pocvm

ktpass -princ HTTP/mywebservice.coolcorp.priv@COOLCORP.PRIV -pass myKeyTabFilePassword -mapuser COOLCORP\pocvm$ -pType KRB5_NT_PRINCIPAL -out c:\temp\pocvm.HTTP.keytab -crypto AES256-SHA1

When I test my keytab with the kinit command, it works.
    kinit HTTP/mywebservice.coolcorp.priv@COOLCORP.PRIV -k -t /etc/keytab/pocvm.HTTP.keytab

I do have a kerberos ticket.

I set the location of my keytab as an environment variable.
    export KRB5_KTNAME=/etc/keytab/pocvm.HTTP.keytab

I updated the startup file

namespace pocdotnet
    {
        public class Startup
        {
            public Startup(IConfiguration configuration)
            {
                Configuration = configuration;
            }

public IConfiguration Configuration { get; }

// This method gets called by the runtime. Use this method to add services to the container.