none
How do I even begin? RRS feed

• Question

• I apologize if this ends up in the wrong thread, but I am extremely frustrated, need some very simple questions answered, and don't have time to root through all of the forums. Please do not link me to the Microsoft Docs site; I have been around them many times in circles, and they are more confusing than helpful.

I have just signed a contract with a client who provides a third-party plug-in for Microsoft Access that integrates source-code control. He suggested that I begin with Azure DevOps, as there is a free version available. I have no experience with SCC at all, and I was not prepared for how confusing this is turning out to be.

Please help me by answering the following questions in a straightforward manner:

I have downloaded the Azure DevOps Server Express installer, and completed the installation. Following that, the Administration Console appears. Does this mean that the server is now running? If it is running, how do I use it? The docs seems to imply that I connect to it locally through a web browser, but they don't explicitly show how that can be done. If the server is not yet running at that point, how do I cause it to begin running? Do I need to install anything else in order to get this to run on my local computer?

(I am running Windows 10 and Microsoft Office 365, if that information helps any.)

Wednesday, July 31, 2019 4:47 PM

All replies

• Hi Sarjenka,

Short Answer:

Did you get an instance of SQL Server installed in addition to the DevOps server instance? On how to use it, that is not a simple question. Please see: Administrative tasks quick reference (link).

Long Answer:

There are basically two options for using DevOps. There is the on-premise installation or there is a hosted DevOps service option. The on-premise deployment is the option you are attempting. Apologies for referencing a document but, this is the document you need to install for a single node deployment: