Should I learn to program? RRS feed

• Question

• I am interested in programming, but I am a beginner. Basically I am curious as to the advantages of being able to program for someone who may not want to do it for a living.
    Thursday, December 14, 2006 8:53 AM

Answers

• Programming is actually not as hard as people would believe it to be.

This said, I think you should try take it up, because it's quite enjoyable creating something that noone else has created, and designing it's own logic.

When you finish your first Hello World even, you will love the feeling you get from creating something, even though it's not something physical, it's still something that you made yourself :)

Why not try it in your spare time?

Follow the link to my book, the first chapter is free :) Sorry for the advertising, but it may help out.

Thursday, December 14, 2006 9:56 AM
  • Hi and welcome.

Programming is a creative process that exercises your problem solving abilities. Like anything you have to try it to see if you like it.

Some resource / webcast / sample applications to help you out:

ASP.NET 2.0: http://quickstarts.asp.net/QuickStartv20/aspnet/

Winforms: http://www.windowsforms.net/ and http://samples.gotdotnet.com/quickstart/winforms

The online MSDN Developer's Guide for Windows Form Applications is also indispensible:

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms644558.aspx

If you let us know what kind of programming you want to do we'll be able to help you further (web, game, windows app).

Regards,
    Charles

Friday, December 15, 2006 2:57 AM
  • The simple question is,

Do you want to learn to write software and develop programs to do things on the computer  OR do you just want to use software that someone else has writen.

If you want to try writing software to do some simple tasks - then by all means watch the learning webcasts, pick up a book or two install the software and give it a try.    If you dont like it, then you dont have to do it.