removing duplicity of data RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I have 1 table. I have to remove the redundant data from table. I have to use foreign key concept but unable to get idea. please suggest how do it.

thanks and regard love4csharp

• Edited by love4csharp Wednesday, April 3, 2013 4:49 PM
    • Moved by Naomi NEditor Wednesday, April 3, 2013 5:02 PM Design Question
    Wednesday, April 3, 2013 4:43 PM

Answers

• I may be missing something, but it looks to me that, although there is some duplication, there are no rows that are exactly the same.  It looks to me like this table needs to be broken out into a couple different tables, I mean, I am still new to database stuff, but this table looks like it is not even 2nd normal form.  

It looks to me like this table is storing data on grades and course info, so I would break it out into a Course table and Grades table.  Something like:

Grades: id,  courseid, maxmarks, passmarks, securemarks

Courses: id, coursename

Topics: id, TopicName, courseid

Employee: id, fname, lname, etc....

or something along those lines.

Simon.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 4:57 PM

All replies

• kindly share your ideas

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 4:50 PM
  • I may be missing something, but it looks to me that, although there is some duplication, there are no rows that are exactly the same.  It looks to me like this table needs to be broken out into a couple different tables, I mean, I am still new to database stuff, but this table looks like it is not even 2nd normal form.  

It looks to me like this table is storing data on grades and course info, so I would break it out into a Course table and Grades table.  Something like:

Grades: id,  courseid, maxmarks, passmarks, securemarks

Courses: id, coursename

Topics: id, TopicName, courseid

Employee: id, fname, lname, etc....

or something along those lines.

Simon.

Wednesday, April 3, 2013 4:57 PM
  • hi

simon