Announcement: a new IDE for Small Basic! RRS feed

• General discussion

• Hello guys! I have been working since March 2013 to develop a better IDE for Small Basic. The new IDE, called SB IDE++ has nearly all the features of the default Small Basic IDE plus tons of new features such as dockable windows,  a GUI Designer, real-time debugger, extension manager, code folding, plugin support, and much more! It has a full IntelliSense/Autocomplete system that is compatible with the default SB libraries as well as all extensions.

Here are some screenshots of the IDE in action:

GUI Designer

Debugger and debug menu

Code Folding

Code Metrics

Autocomplete/IntelliSense

Program Importing and Exporting (compatible with default SB import/export)

Extension Manager

I will be releasing a beta version of the IDE soon. If you would like to be a beta tester, please email me at gungan 37 at gmail dot com and tell me your name and your forum username and why you would like to be a beta tester. I will accept the first five people and any I/O Extension donors!

Please mark any answers and "vote as helpful" any posts that help you!

Tuesday, July 23, 2013 5:24 PM
    Answerer

All replies

• This sounds so awesome! :D I hope it turns out well!!!

I am a 13 year old who loves coding, and is eager to learn more about it!

Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:20 AM
  • Thanks for the reply! If you would like to join the beta tester team, please shoot me an email at gungan 37 at gmail dot com!

Wednesday, July 24, 2013 3:43 AM
    Answerer
  • There's obliviously more to programming than just programming. Testing: a critical step in development prior to release. This is a skill I would like to get some experience in.

Sounds like a great opportunity for beginners using SB to gain broader programming experience.

In brief, me and SB.

I've been learning programming for 7 months using SB. I'm up to 4.1 Playing with Shapes.