locked
When does validation occur? RRS feed

  • Question

  • Hi,

    I know that validation (and in turn the business rules) fire when you explicity validate a version. It also seems to happen when you add a member to an entity. This is fine.

    Some of my collegues have said could the validation fire when you're editing a member? What seems to happen is that the member just gets marked as invalid, then someone has to manually validate the version. Some users would like to be told immediately on the screen that something has failed validation. Is this possible?

    Thanks

    John

    Friday, August 6, 2010 4:36 PM

Answers

  • The difference in behavior in the grid and the member edit screen is the in the grid you could potentially be editing multiple members.  After you are done with your editing you can then select to run business rules to determine any validation issues.  Whereas, in member edit you are only editing one member at a time thus we go ahead and run business rules on that one member.

    Currently, the changes you make, even ones that are invalid, are saved however you are not allowed to commit a version until all validation issues are corrected.

    Thanks,

    Brian Barnett - MSFT

    Monday, August 9, 2010 1:07 PM
  • Hi John,

    Validation (business rules) does happen after you click save on the member edit page.  You'll see the validation issues on the bottom after the screen refreshes.  You can also run validation (business rules) on the member explorer grid.  There is a toolbar button above the grid that will run business rules for the members in the grid.

    Thanks,

    Brian Barnett - MSFT

    Friday, August 6, 2010 5:03 PM

All replies

  • Hi John,

    Validation (business rules) does happen after you click save on the member edit page.  You'll see the validation issues on the bottom after the screen refreshes.  You can also run validation (business rules) on the member explorer grid.  There is a toolbar button above the grid that will run business rules for the members in the grid.

    Thanks,

    Brian Barnett - MSFT

    Friday, August 6, 2010 5:03 PM
  • Hi Brian,

    Thanks for your reply.

    I see what you mean now. You're right, if you go to the member edit page, the business rules do kick in and you get told that the change is invalid.

    However, if you make the same change in the member explorer grid, then the change just gets let through, without any warning to the user. Do you know at all why there is a difference in behaviour? Both are valid ways to edit a member as far as I'm aware.

    Also - in both cases the change gets let through. When you go via the member edit screen the record gets marked with a red exclamation mark, and when you do it in the explorer you get the standard orange question mark. Is there anyway to actually prevent a change from being allowed if its invalid?

    Thanks

    John

    Sunday, August 8, 2010 7:14 PM
  • The difference in behavior in the grid and the member edit screen is the in the grid you could potentially be editing multiple members.  After you are done with your editing you can then select to run business rules to determine any validation issues.  Whereas, in member edit you are only editing one member at a time thus we go ahead and run business rules on that one member.

    Currently, the changes you make, even ones that are invalid, are saved however you are not allowed to commit a version until all validation issues are corrected.

    Thanks,

    Brian Barnett - MSFT

    Monday, August 9, 2010 1:07 PM