none
What is the best way to filter VoIP/SIP activity? RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, I am new to WFP area. I have read online document and sample code, but I am not sure if my knowledge about WFP is good enough to make any technical decisions yet.

What I would like to do is to get a notification when a VoIP activity has occurred. For example, I would like to know when Skype or Lync call has arrived.

What is the best way to monitor VoIP/SIP activity? Do I have to build a kernel driver for this? Which layer should my driver to filter?

Is there anyway to achieve my goal without writing a kernel WFP callout driver?

What about RTC (Real Time Communication) framework? I know that I can write a Skype like application using RTC APIs, but I am not sure if RTC has any capability to monitor SIP protocol.

Thanks,

zhong

Friday, February 14, 2014 10:49 PM

All replies

• WFP is meant for all of your TCP/IP stack filtering needs.

Static filtering (no kernel driver) is only used to BLOCK / ALLOW traffic based on predefined conditions (i.e. IPPACKET layers expose the local and remote addresses).

In order to do anything else (examine, modify, etc), then you need a kernel callout driver.

You could use WFP's auditing (and allow filters) to find out if a Skype or Lync call has occurred, however this isn't very efficient, and I doubt what you are wanting.

I would suggest a callout driver sitting at ALE_AUTH_RECV_ACCEPT (for incoming calls).  The callout can then do whatever you need it to do based on the connection (i.e. log the connection information to a security log).  If you want to monitor the connection for it's endurance, then you would sit at more layers...

I suggest taking a look at the WFPSampler.  (The BASIC_PACKET_EXAMINATION scenario is likely your best starting point).

Hope this helps,

Dusty Harper [MSFT]
    Microsoft Corporation
    ------------------------------------------------------------