New to Windows Mobile Development and needs advice RRS feed

• Question

• Hi to the experts,

I am new to Windows Mobile Development.

I am a C++ developer and would like to seek some guidelines with this journey of mine to Windows Mobile Development.

My target applications will be more on device management, maybe this would mean dealing more on API's. I hope the experts can help me with this one the simplest way. My questions are categorized and they are as follows:

/*----------Development Tools----------*/

1. What Visual Studio version is for Windows Mobile Development? Visual Studio 2010 seems to be the latest release, would this be the perfect development tool for current windows mobile phone and windows 7 phones?

/*----------Books and References------*/

2. Which book would be good to start?

3. Other sources?

/*--------Deployment / Licensing------*/

4. When we deploy our applications, would there be any other payment other than buying visual studio? I am not familiar how this works in

windows mobile I hope someone can give me a little overview about it.

5. I have developed applications for Symbian, does windows mobile have also signing of applications and request for certificates in order for applications to run?

And if there are things that you want to add, please do so, I might have missed something that would be important for windows mobile development.

Thank you in advance.

cassey_lane
    Monday, April 19, 2010 1:27 PM

Answers

• I would suggest Programming Windows Embedded CE 6.0 Developer Reference, 4th Edition. Windows Mobile is based off of CE 5 but most of the information in this book will be applicable to Windows Mobile 6.
    Joel Ivory Johnson | http://www.j2i.net | Device Application Development MVP
    It takes all the running you can do to stay in one place.If you want to get somewhere else,you must try to run at least twice as fast as that.
    Tuesday, April 20, 2010 11:56 AM
  • /*----------Development Tools----------*/