none
Using a navigation form to run a query RRS feed

• Question

• Here is my question, and forgive me I am quite new to MS Access so I might be a little rusty on explaining in correctly.  Here is my issue.

I have a form called Sample Type Query, on it it has a combo box from which you can select from different sample types.  The combo box is called qSampleType, there is also a button to run the query, do some calculations and output a report.  On the query design page I have the following entered 

[Forms]![Sample Type Query]![qSampleType]

This all works great when I run the form as is.  Report looks great and values are all what they should be.

When I put the sample type query form in my navigation form it no longer works, I assume I have to change the above to something?  But what?  I've tried things such as;

[Forms]![NavigationMain]![qSampleType]

With no sucess.

Thanks for any help!

Wednesday, June 8, 2016 8:38 PM

Answers

• Hi,

try

Forms![NavigationMain]![NavigationSubform]!qSampleType

"NavigationSubform" is the default name of the subform control in a navigation form.

If that doesn't work you should check your current name:

In the navigation control click on the subform so that you see the orange frame around it. Then check the Name property in the property sheet. This is the subform name to address.

cu
    Karl
    Access FAQ (de/it): donkarl.com
    Access Lobby: AccessDevelopers.org

• Marked as answer by Jwis86 Thursday, June 9, 2016 12:48 PM
    Wednesday, June 8, 2016 9:20 PM

All replies

• Hi,

try

Forms![NavigationMain]![NavigationSubform]!qSampleType

"NavigationSubform" is the default name of the subform control in a navigation form.

If that doesn't work you should check your current name:

In the navigation control click on the subform so that you see the orange frame around it. Then check the Name property in the property sheet. This is the subform name to address.

cu
    Karl
    Access FAQ (de/it): donkarl.com