locked
Can you please confirm/research if we delete a user from the active directory, does the share point website still maintains the audit trail of the user?where we can see that audit trail in sharepoint site? RRS feed

  • Question

  • please post the answer asap
    Saturday, November 13, 2010 11:40 AM

Answers

  • What Mike is trying to say is that if you delete a user from AD it will not automatically delete the user from the SharePoint site, and all the user information will be available on the SharePoint site, for eg. a document library has a metadata field called Created by or modified by, so if the user had uploads a document it will have the its name in the Created by column. So even after deleting the user from AD, SharePoint will still retain the users history for the actions the user has performed on the SharePoint site while it was active. 

    But if you later delete the user from the SharePoint site, all the activities which the users has performed while he was active on the SharePoint site, will now show System User instead of the User name.

    Hope that helps...

    -Mukesh


    "Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread."
    • Marked as answer by Seven M Thursday, November 18, 2010 9:06 AM
    Sunday, November 14, 2010 2:19 PM
  • If you delete a user from AD, it will not clear the user's history.  If you however delete the user from SharePoint it will not be able to resolve the reference in the list/library modified values and show System User instead.
    SharePoint Server MVP | Architect | Developer | Administrator | Speaker-- Twitter -- Blog - http://nextconnect.blogspot.com
    • Marked as answer by Seven M Thursday, November 18, 2010 9:06 AM
    Saturday, November 13, 2010 2:53 PM

All replies

  • Santosh,

    If you delete or disable a user account in AD, that user will not be able to Login in the SharePoint Site. As SharePoint will authenticate the user credentials against AD and if it finds the User disabled or deleted in AD it will deny access for that user id.

    One will experience a similar behavior as of entering wrong password just it will not show the access denied page after three attempts.

    Hope that helps..

    -Mukesh


    "Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread."
    Saturday, November 13, 2010 2:44 PM
  • If you delete a user from AD, it will not clear the user's history.  If you however delete the user from SharePoint it will not be able to resolve the reference in the list/library modified values and show System User instead.
    SharePoint Server MVP | Architect | Developer | Administrator | Speaker-- Twitter -- Blog - http://nextconnect.blogspot.com
    • Marked as answer by Seven M Thursday, November 18, 2010 9:06 AM
    Saturday, November 13, 2010 2:53 PM
  • Hi Mike Oryszak,

    Still i am not understand that. Can you explain indetail?

    Thanks.

     

    Sunday, November 14, 2010 1:57 PM
  • What Mike is trying to say is that if you delete a user from AD it will not automatically delete the user from the SharePoint site, and all the user information will be available on the SharePoint site, for eg. a document library has a metadata field called Created by or modified by, so if the user had uploads a document it will have the its name in the Created by column. So even after deleting the user from AD, SharePoint will still retain the users history for the actions the user has performed on the SharePoint site while it was active. 

    But if you later delete the user from the SharePoint site, all the activities which the users has performed while he was active on the SharePoint site, will now show System User instead of the User name.

    Hope that helps...

    -Mukesh


    "Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread."
    • Marked as answer by Seven M Thursday, November 18, 2010 9:06 AM
    Sunday, November 14, 2010 2:19 PM
  • Thanks Mukesh

    Monday, November 15, 2010 4:04 AM
  • Sometimes administrators find user management a burdon. But as Mukesh stated there are advantages such as the ability to preserve a user audit history even after a user is disabled or removed from AD.  Another place Administrators must pay attention to user management is search.  If not explicitly Filtered out users can show up in people search results for accounts that have been disabled.
    Dennis Bottjer | Follow Me: @dbottjer | Blog: Dennis Bottjer.com
    Monday, November 15, 2010 4:29 AM