none
Getting data onto a Form using a foreign key. RRS feed

• Question

• I'm a complete novice at Access, so this is probably a very basic question, but I've been trying (and failing) to get this to work for some days now, and I need help. Badly.

I have display items on display boards, and the boards can be in various locations.

The Item table (tblItem) has a foreign key to an entry in the Board table (tblBoard).

The Board table has a foreign key to an entry in the Location table (tblLocation).

I have a form (frmItem) which I am trying to use to display details about an Item.

I wish to display the Item name, the name of the Board it is on, and the location of that Board.

I'm using 

=DLookUp("BoardName","tblBoard","ID = " & [Forms]![frmItem]![UIdBoard])

to get the name of the Board which the item is on, but I'm stumped at how to get the name of the Location.

I've tried recovering the foreign key from the Board table and putting that on the Item form as LocUid, then using LocUid in a subsequent DLookUp

=DLookUp("UidLocation","tblBoard","ID = " & [Forms]![frmItem]![LocUId])

but this has got to be wrong for all sorts of reasons (e.g. sequence of form field reconcilliation). I've searched the web for similar issues, but I must be getting my serach terms wrong, 'cos I can't reconcile the answers with my problem.

Can any kind sould point me in the right direction? Any help would be gratefully received....

Wednesday, May 3, 2017 11:11 AM

Answers

• Hi Sorcerer13,

I try to create tables as yours.

TblItem:

TblBoard:

TblBoardLocation:

then I try to create a query using design view and select the fields I want to display in result.

Query in SQL View.

SELECT tblboard.board_name, tblboardlocation.location_name, tblitem.item_name

FROM (tblboard INNER JOIN tblboardlocation ON tblboard.board_location_id = tblboardlocation.board_location_id) INNER JOIN tblitem ON tblboard.board_id = tblitem.board_id;

Result:

Regards

Deepak

MSDN Community Support