Mp4 files are not playing smoothly RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I have a 3-months trial subscription and I am planning to use azure media services to host my video content. For testing ,  Here's what I am doing

1) From long tail video site, I downloaded an MP4 video url which is playing very well on longtail site. 

Here's the player link where you can see how well its playing in browser using that player. 

http://www.longtailvideo.com/jw-player/wizard/

The video url from where I downloaded video is 

ttp://content.bitsontherun.com/videos/3XnJSIm4-kNspJqnJ.mp4

2) After download, I rename this video and upload it to media services using Portal's upload function. Then I encoded it to HTML5 video and then I published it. After publishing , I got this url

https://quanqamedia.blob.core.windows.net/asset-b58375e6-15d2-46f4-b40f-8163d6d27797/longtail.mp4?st=2013-02-27T12%3A00%3A45Z&se=2015-02-27T12%3A00%3A45Z&sr=c&si=d84c6326-9cdf-43dc-9d4c-20ca02893719&sig=YbpxZdLsMiLakLc22GbJqDqpk4i7Hen7AQIRZy5xvQg%3D

But when I use this url for some player or open it in chrome directly, it plays very slow and strangely. 

Can anybody guide me in right direction ? What I am doing wrong here ?

Thanks

Neeraj Khosla

Wednesday, February 27, 2013 12:14 PM

Answers

• Your input MP4 is SD resolution (640x272) encoded at a low bitrate of 400 kbps. The presets currently made available via the portal are tuned towards HD/720p content at higher quality bitrates (few Mbps). Your input video is being scaled to 720p and and encoded at a higher bitrate, hence the size difference.

We are working on updating the portal to allow you to choose other encode settings, more suitable to your scenario.

• Proposed as answer by CaptainJackSparrow Tuesday, March 5, 2013 4:32 AM
    • Marked as answer by Mingfei Tuesday, March 5, 2013 9:29 PM
    Tuesday, March 5, 2013 4:32 AM

All replies

• Neeraj,

I am seeing similar behavior on my end for that URL.  It downloads 25% and then freezes.