ASP.NET Core MVC or Razor Pages? RRS feed

• Question

• User-954747950 posted

Hello everyone,

I'm new to web development and decided to pick ASP.NET Core for a project since I have prior knowledge of C#. I don't have any experience with JS, but I have a good grasp of OOP. I will be writing a basic reservation system for a tourism company, but we will add other features in the future, so it is not going to stay as a small project. Considering this, should I go with MVC pattern or should I stick to razor pages and learn that instead?

Sunday, February 23, 2020 8:34 PM

Answers

• User-821857111 posted

Razor Pages is the recommended way to build server-side websites these days. It's a lot easier to work with than MVC and is just as powerful. Microsoft recommend that controllers should only be used for Web APIs.

Here's a starting point: https://www.learnrazorpages.com

• Marked as answer by Anonymous Thursday, October 7, 2021 12:00 AM
    Monday, February 24, 2020 7:51 PM
  • User-821857111 posted

You would organise a Razor Pages application in a similar way to an MVC application. The traditional Presentation - Business Logic - Data Access layer approach is just as valid for Razor Pages.  

I usually create a "service" layer (Business Logic) that calls methods in a Data Access layer (repositories, Entity Framework or whatever) and call the service layer methods in the PageModel handler methods. In a large application, I might even create the layers as separate projects. 

The cshtml file is a template for generating HTML on the server to be sent to the browser. You would only likely use Web API controllers in a Razor Pages application if you want to move the processing and UI generation to the client (using JavaScript). Web API endpoints return data (as JSON by default), not HTML. They can be useful if parts of your page are driven by AJAX. There's an example here: https://www.learnrazorpages.com/web-api

Wednesday, February 26, 2020 9:12 PM

All replies