none
outlook custom email render/view/ link RRS feed

• Question

• Hi

I would like to write add in for outlook, to render text custom format.

For example, if the outlook email  contains some key words, I will have to make/display highlighted orCLICKABLE without changing the word contents. Basically I wanted to change the email display without changing the content (override render engine). Since  I'm new to office development, can someone shade some light on this.

When the user open the outlook email, I want highlight or create link on that pre-defind texts without changing the content. User should not be prompted for save when he closes the email. 

should be able do this on readonly email/documents also.

-Bala

Balamurali C

Balamurali C

Monday, February 16, 2015 10:27 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hello Bala,

The Outlook object model model provides three main ways for working with item bodies:

1. Body - a raw text.

2. HTMLBody - a string representing the HTML body of the specified item.

3. WordEditor - the Microsoft Word Document Object Model of the message being displayed. 

So you can use the HTMLBody and WordEditor properties for customizing the message body. You can read more about these ways in the Chapter 17: Working with Item Bodies article in MSDN.

If you need to replace the content you may also consider injecting your own form to replace the body view in Outlook inspectors. The CompleteReplacement layout is implemented by Add-in Express. See Advanced Outlook view and form regions . You can do the same on your own using Windows API. The Adjacent Windows In Outlook article describes the process in depth.

Monday, February 16, 2015 11:46 AM
  • Hello Astafiev,

Thanks for your quick reply., I just implemented same as described in the link. I'm getting exception when I'm am  trying to add link.

"This method or property is not available because the document is locked for editing"