none
Data Entry Form: Remove choices from drop-down list based on previous selections RRS feed

• Question

• Hi, Everyone

I am a total newbie to this, so please keep it as simple as you can :-)

I am trying to create a simple Services and Hardware Requisition form for New User Take On.

I have a table "Services", which lists Description, Service Number and Amount.

I want to be able to update pricing in this table so I don't have a major issue updating the app.

I have created a data entry form which the Team Leader will fill in - see attached.

All the drop-down lists on the form reference the "Services" table, with default values pre-selected.

for the "Other Services" list I want to allow multiple values to be selected, but I want to exclude those values already selected in the other drop down lists.

Any ideas?

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 8:37 AM

All replies

• Hmm, to allow multiple value selection,  you must be using a multi-valued field (MVF). If so, the selections are usually set up at the table level. If so, I am not sure it's possible to limit the list per record. 

If it's not possible, you might have to use an unbound listbox instead and then use code to populate the MVF.

Just my 2 cents...

Tuesday, September 18, 2018 12:06 PM
  • The issue is complicated by the poor design of your table.  Rather than having multiple columns for the service types a correct design would be to model the many-to-many relationship type between Users and Services in a related table.  In broad outline the tables would be:

Uesrs
    ….UserID  (PK)
    ....FirstName
    ....LastName
    ….etc

ServiceTypes
    ….ServiceTypeID  (PK)
    ….ServiceType

Services
    ….ServiceID  (PK)
    ….Service
    ….ServiceTypeID  (FK)

and to model the relationship type:

UserServices
    ….UserID  (FK)
    ….ServiceID  FK)