Geometry in varbinary RRS feed

• Question

• Hi,

I have a table with a column name Geometry (datatype varbinary (max)) and it contains geom of certain Area, table also have other columns e.g. Area (values A, B, C), Zone (values 1, 2, 3).

Another table contain two columns: Latitude (float) and Longitude (float). Value of Latitude and Longitude could be within area of Geometry column of previous table.

I need to prepare statement to find area based on lookup of Latitude and Longitude in Geometry column. Since all these 3 involved columns are not stored as geometry date type how could I perform the lookup.

Any help is highly appreciated as I am new to SQL spatial.

Regards,

Ash

Monday, April 1, 2019 9:07 PM

All replies

• Hi AshwaniSrivastava,

Geometric information is stored in the database as a binary data type. You can use STAsText() method to convert them to information that contains latitude and longitude. For more details, please refer to https://gis.stackexchange.com/questions/19854/what-is-the-format-of-geometry-data-type-of-sqlserver-2008

Hope this could help you .

Best regards,

Dedmon Dai

MSDN Community Support
    Please remember to click "Mark as Answer" the responses that resolved your issue, and to click "Unmark as Answer" if not. This can be beneficial to other community members reading this thread. If you have any compliments or complaints to MSDN Support, feel free to contact MSDNFSF@microsoft.com

Tuesday, April 2, 2019 2:20 AM
  • Hi Dedmon Dai,

I am getting below error when using STAsText() or STAsBinary:

Msg 4121, Level 16, State 1, Line 30
    Cannot find either column "Geometry" or the user-defined function or aggregate "Webmap_Geometry.STAsText", or the name is ambiguous.

May be reason being column "Geometry" is datatype varbinary and not sql spatial geometry type?

Tuesday, April 2, 2019 3:06 AM