data warehouse RRS feed

• Question

• hi every body

I am new to data warehouse tool,and I have a question about it:is my theory right?

my theory about data warehouse is that I should first design my table in SQl server mangment and then I should create my fact and dimensions by writing query in SQL Server mangement and then I can use SSIS tool for ETL processing to loading my facts and dimensions,if my theory is wrong could you please help me.

thanks

Thursday, November 8, 2012 8:59 AM

Answers

• Well in data warehousing u begin anything with proper datamodelling.U have to analyze ur source systems and can  create ER diagrams

for the same that will give u a clear understading of what will be be ur dimension as well as ur fact table.u can search on the web for anything related to data modelling or ER diagrams. Based on ur ER diagrams or the data model u have created u will create dimension and fact table .There can be staging tables as well before loading the data into resultant dimension or fact for any cleansing of the data or if u want to perform any operation and for this entire process u will use ssis which is ETL tool from microsoft

• Proposed as answer by Eileen Zhao Tuesday, November 13, 2012 6:04 AM
    • Marked as answer by Eileen Zhao Tuesday, November 20, 2012 6:00 AM
    Thursday, November 8, 2012 11:35 AM

All replies

• Well in data warehousing u begin anything with proper datamodelling.U have to analyze ur source systems and can  create ER diagrams