Where to start? RRS feed

• General discussion

• I trying to learn Software Architecture and Software Design.  I'm a long-time programmer but work for a company that doesn't use formalized practices.  What would be the best place to start learning.  I'm quite a bit overwhelmed.  My only experience is well commented code.  I am interested in reading books, but more interested in free resources.
    Tuesday, January 11, 2011 5:18 PM

All replies

• I would start by studying Design Patterns.  Most architectural patterns begin with a firm understanding of design patterns.

Reed Copsey, Jr. - http://reedcopsey.com
    If a post answers your question, please click "Mark As Answer" on that post and "Mark as Helpful".
    Tuesday, January 11, 2011 5:42 PM
  • Come on dude or gal, does it make sense , please do join a software concern and learn how people inside  the software concern work. Adaption is bottom line suuccess for your software life inside an software concern. Please do follow the role of three monkey. That is the best real time facts. it is very painful , then again welcome to the real world.
    PHIJO MP
    Wednesday, January 12, 2011 1:55 PM
  • Hi,

The best practise for software design is behaviour driven development (BDD) but that requires an agile approach to software development.

Test driven development (TDD), a part of BDD, is a good place to start. It's also more agile but it can be used on other development techniques; like waterfall. Big up front designs for example can still use TDD but the design doesn't evolve obviously. TDD still provides the safety net even if the design is done before coding

Requirements always change, the design evolves, TDD - if done right - helps the design evolve.

Also look at SOLID, an acronym for a collection of practises to help create flexible designs.

…we each have more potential than we might ever presume to guess. (Blog: http://dsmyth.blogspot.com/)
    Wednesday, January 12, 2011 3:17 PM