none
C# How to save changes in Dataset to MDB file RRS feed

• Question

•  I am making an inventory program utilizing an exsisting MS Access Database using C# as a frontend.  I have had no problem importing the data, and displaying it accordingly.  Adding an modifying seem to work, but the changes in data are not reflected in the external database (so when I close the program the changes to the database are not saved.  How can I go about saving these changes? (I am new to data access in c# so even if its a simple step i probably overlooked it)

Heres a sample code i just made that still has the problem (the form displays the inserted rows and updated rows fine.. but when you close the program and reopen it, there are still no entries. The Dataset and TableAdapters were all made automatically (since i added a DataGridView to the form to watch the output)

public partial class Form1 : Form

{

public Form1()

{

InitializeComponent();

}

private void button1_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)

{

this.testTableAdapter.Insert("Greg", "Smith");

this.testTableAdapter.Fill(database1DataSet.Test);

}

private void Form1_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)

{

// TODO: This line of code loads data into the 'database1DataSet.Test' table. You can move, or remove it, as needed.

this.testTableAdapter.Fill(this.database1DataSet.Test);

}

private void button2_Click(object sender, EventArgs e)

{

database1DataSet.Test[0].FName = "Melissa";

database1DataSet.Test[0].LName = "Donald";

this.Validate();

testBindingSource.EndEdit();

testTableAdapter.Update(database1DataSet.Test);

testTableAdapter.Fill(database1DataSet.Test);

}

}

thanks.

Greg

Tuesday, August 14, 2007 8:19 PM

Answers